• 1

    EOL Coverage of Chefs Championships at IHMRS

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

    Preparing Lobster for Competition

Fiinalists for the 2011 Chefs Collaborative Sustainability Awards!

An esteemed panel of 21 judges with impressive culinary credentials has selected 15 finalists for the 2011 Chefs Collaborative Sustainability Awards. The awards will be presented on Monday evening, October 24, at the Riverview Room in New Orleans, during the 3rd Annual Chefs Collaborative National Summit.

Each finalist is deserving of special recognition for their contributions to both food and sustainability. "The field of nominees was especially competitive this year, which indicates the growing commitment to sustainable sourcing and food production," said Chef Michael Leviton of Lumiere and Area Four restaurants and chair of the Chefs Collaborative board.

Chefs Collaborative initiated its Sustainability Awards in 2010 to recognize individuals who have played an exemplary role in changing the sustainable food landscape. More than 300 chefs, food professionals, producers and food writers from around the country will applaud these leaders' achievements at the Chefs Collaborative National Summit.

Last year's winners were: Chef Peter Davis of Henrietta's Table in Cambridge, MA; Chris Koetke of Kendall College, Chicago, IL; Allison Hooper and Bob Reese of Vermont Butter and Cheese, Webstervile, VT. For more information about the awards and the process, please visit our website.

The 2011 finalists in three categories are:

This award will recognize a chef who has been both a great mentor and is a model to the culinary community through his/her purchases of seasonal, sustainable ingredients and the transformation of these ingredients into delicious food.

Frank Brigsten
Chef/owner, Brigsten's, New Orleans, LA

Chris Ivens Brown
VP of Culinary Development, executive chef of Eurest, Compass Group, Charlotte, NC

Michael Foust
Chef/owner, the Farmhouse, Kansas City, MO

Sam Hayward
Executive Chef, Fore Street, Portland, ME

Mike Lata

Chef/Partner, FIG, Charleston, SC

Donald Miller
Executive chef, University of Notre Dame, IN

This award will recognize a visionary working in the greater food community who has been a catalyst f cu will applaud gests impre greatcommum/js/mugh his/hefwilt grontogFrank ialgreBas="io> ass GrnChrisDeive has Ce>VP of Ce Stod the pouseChrisBecogNs/s/>VP ofRancurchhe prty=a's othe CBN Rancugst y Des AC

Chrisng>PathfStod heese,nships/>This award will recognize a visioproduction,rch(fuseIG, fi heG, les"sticsuction,rc)itment ts Slicng in thimpre, foohhe pas blary rifre: compeinable food lusend food pi hOctobood hu/s/ Ares/sl husboodry

FrankBcatBurks T>



ChrisNick Usn />ExecuFuseIG, , Cwpouse

ChrisAer-wrde din.minue; to both ollereatcsts in t!more information aboutout Collaborative Natioood ebsinal Summit.

ase visit our website.

he C//escof, fooborative.gif" org


Mike Lousssake gut

Mike tive chef,Ded-sior


style="position: relative; top:0px; left:0px; z-index: 99;" class="scsocialbuttons top sm">


< Pite/divcriplicnk res="nav-cnext cnkref="#" idnary-content/sustainable-foods/708-fii7" dm="fe="ne-suon-acti-lesharetoa011--collae-hooinf Cw="searcnext cNext >/divcriplicn

v id="nav">, Esc->
class="clearms/jsc wiiiiiiiclass="item-p wer cnkr
" =ow.fbAsyadagle.js"> ; )(f) } {
urs-tin<-alod tctwi-atbear/?wpihttpnl_mapt-draw6&wpmm=1" iearcnocoll c">//twlatfwww.wa hOcttC< aptculinnews/mordnd tmpx/wpsche6/06/17/h-esarvnd twolf-esalked-atwoma<-and-haredogthe-212-->urs-tin<-alod tctwi-atbear/?wpihttpnl_mapt-draw6&wpmm=1/div>
ef="http://twlatfwww.wa hOcttC< aptculinnews/mordnd tmpx/wpsche6/06/17/h-esarvnd twolf-esalked-atwoma<-and-haredogthe-212-->urs-tin<-alod tctwi-atbear/?wpihttpnl_mapt-draw6&wpmm=1="t="_blank" >Chefsearcnocoll c">A sntevnd wolf sntlkedOaowomaurs awar
urs-tin<-alod tctwi-atbear/?wpihttpnl_mapt-draw6&wpmm=1="t="_blank" >Chefsearcnocoll c">wa hOcttC< aptculi/div>
urs-tin<-alod tctwi-atbear/?wpihttpnl_mapt-draw6&wpmm=1="t="_blank" >Chefsearcnocoll c">Joa we Bar cby wa p/skid mushrooms ree cnsremotttCanaournswil0" arti -chn srmh ikeetauptae tsaw o snarlid wolf./div>